The year was 1997. Up until that point of my life a successful road trip meant that my brother and I hadn’t crossed the proverbial invisible line in the back seat of the car. A line our parents made us create so we didn’t end up killing each other before we got to our final destination. Another marker of success on one of these road trips was if you could ride the Sea Dragon at the famous Fun Town amusement park (Saco, ME) and not puke. I’ve come long way since then.

I remember the exact moment when something change. I was given a National Geographic Traveler magazine by my grandmother. She had received it in the mail for an unknown reason. Perhaps they were trying to rope her into a subscription. She seemed to have known I would enjoy this magazine, one that sported a woman horseback riding along a pristine beach in Puerto Rico. I remember quickly going through pages, only looking at the pictures. I didn’t give a shit about the articles. Some things never change. Nearly 20 years later, I still get this magazine and rarely read the words. Why? I surely would enjoy delving deeper into these stories that accompany the beautiful landscapes and amazing photography. Right? The bottom line is, I don’t read the articles. I don’t know if I ever will.

img_4553
My first National Geographic Traveler magazine

I look at the places in these pictures and I dream. Wanderlust takes over and a deep desire to go, move, trek, explore, takes over. I want to see these places with my own eyes and create my own “articles.” I want to see my photos and my words on the page and know that I wrote the story from start to finish.

This blog is going to be the place for a glimpse of the journey from there to here.

-The Blonde

